Anyone who wants to get a driver’s license in the state of Illinois must pass the state’s permit exam, also known as the written test or knowledge test. MyDrive Academy’s Illinois Permit Exam Preparation test consists of 67 multiple-choice and true/false questions based on the 2023 Illinois Rules of the Road. Question topics include traffic laws, safe driving techniques, license restrictions, and road-sign names. A score of 50 (or more) correct answers is required to pass this practice test. While MyDrive Academy issues certificates of completion for this course, we do not issue actual learner’s permits–those are issued by the Secretary of State, which is where the official permit exam is administered. This course is meant as preparation for the permit test only. The certificate issued upon completion of this course does not grant students the legal right to drive.
ABOUT THE COURSE
- This course may be completed in two hours, but there is no time limit set and students may finish the course at their convenience.
- Available in both English and Spanish.
- Students must pass the permit exam at the Secretary of State and obtain their learner’s permit before they can begin behind-the-wheel lessons.
WHO CAN TAKE THIS COURSE?
- Teens or adults who want to learn to drive.
- People who need to refresh or update their knowledge of the rules of the road
- People who are in the U.S. on a work, student, or dependent visa
- People without social security numbers
- People for whom Spanish is their first language
- People who have trouble reading and/or writing
HOW TO OBTAIN A LEARNER’S PERMIT IN ILLINOIS
- Make an appointment at the Secretary of State’s office to take your permit exam
- Pass the vision exam
- Pay the $20 permit fee
- Provide proof of identity and residence
- People under the age of 18 must show proof of completion of a 30-hour Driver’s Education course or current enrollment in one
- People between the ages of 18 and 20 must show proof of completion of a 6-hour Adult Driver’s Education course
- The Secretary of State allows for three failed attempts at the permit exam before imposing a year-long waiting period before trying again, but our preparation course will help ensure that our students pass their exam.